Fall Sport Workouts scheduled for July 6 have been delayed to a date TBD.

Fall sport workouts that were supposed to begin on July 6 have postponed to a date TBD. Please see the letter below from OCS.

 

Dear Families, 

 

Orange County Schools and our Athletics Committee, consisting of principals, athletic directors, athletic trainers, and district officials, has made the difficult decision to postpone the start of voluntary athletic summer workouts. Due to the rapidly changing landscape of COVID-19, in the late afternoon of July 2, after OCS communicated that athletics would continue on July 6th, we became aware of other information that caused us to make a change in our decision. We apologize for any inconvenience that this decision may have caused.  

 

OCS is committed to the health and safety of our students and staff and our decision to postpone athletics was made with this commitment at the forefront. While our Athletics Committee has worked hard to develop a solid safety plan for the return to athletics and we are prepared to start athletics when it is safe to do so, we felt the decision to postpone needed to be made for the following reasons:

 

The district hopes to avoid any start, stop and re-start scenarios for athletes

The district is making every effort to ensure the safety of students, staff, and the community.

The advice of area health professionals

 

OCS is continuing to evaluate when to resume athletic activities. Any resumption will be conducted with the health and safety of our student-athletes and staff in mind and in compliance with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association’s (NCHSAA) Reopening of Sports/Activities Summer Guidelines.  OCS will also follow guidance from the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Orange County Health Department.

The following area school districts have also decided to postpone their original July 6th start date: Alamance-Burlington School System, Cabarrus, Charlotte-Mecklenburg, Durham, Guilford, Wake, Winston-Salem/Forsyth.

We have also been monitoring the trends from across the country and states, like Tennessee, that started athletics approximately 4 weeks before the NCHSAA allowed for the start of athletics have since had to stop high school athletics. We again want the health and safety of our student-athletes to be at the forefront of all of our decisions.

 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at jason.johnson@orange.k12.nc.us.

 

Sincerely,


 

Jason Johnson

Ex. Director of Student Support Services

 

 

8/1/2020 5:36 AM

Return to Workouts for summer TBD

Please contact your Fall coach for more details.

 

Forms needed to participate:

1- Updated physical  (physical date after  March 1, 2019 good until May 2021)   Physical/Permission Form

2-  Updated participation/family history form       Family History Form

3-  Covid 19 Form          Initial Screening Covid19 Form

4- Concussion Form (Signed by the student and parent)      Concussion Form

 

Fall Coaches contact:

Andy Simmons A.D.    andy.simmons@orange.k12.nc.us

Kirsten Kelly  Athletic Trainer     kirsten.kelly@orange.k12.nc.us

Football  -   Cory Lea      cedarridgeredwolvesfb@gmail.com                     FB Calendar July/August    

Volleyball -   Fiona Cunningham Collichio     fiona.collichio@gmail.com

XC  -    Bruce Smith (Men)    bruce.smith@orange.k12.nc.us        Paul Lockwood (Women)  plockwood@wcpss.net

Soccer -  Pat Kavanaugh (in the process of hiring a new coach)    patrick.kavanaugh@orange.k12.nc.us

W. Tennis   -  Lennie Corbett     corbettg877@gmail.com

Cheer  -  Monique Brady     monique.brady@orange.k12.nc.us

W. Golf    -  Linda Osterman     linda.osterman@orange.k12.nc.us

 

8/1/2020 6:09 PM

Physicals on or after March 1, 2019 extended through May 1, 2021

9/1/2020 6:05 PM

News and Announcements

Coaches Contact Sheet 2019-2020

  Cedar Ridge Athletics   2019-2020  
Athletic Director Andy Simmons andy.simmons@orange.k12.nc.us 919-245-4124
Trainer Courtney Dean courtney.dean@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000    ext 21704   
       
Fall       
       
Football   Torrean Hinton crhsredwolvesfootball@gmail.com  245-4000   ext     21092
Cross Country  (Boys and Girls) Bruce Smith bruce.smith@orange.k12.nc.us  
Cross Country  (Boys and Girls) Paul Lockwood plockwood@wcpss.net  
Volleyball Anna Seethaler anna@seethalers.com  
 Soccer Boys  Chris Walker chris.walker@orange.k12.nc.us  
Women's Golf Linda Cosgrove linda.cosgrove@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000  
Tennis  Girls Lennie Corbett corbettg877@gmail.com 919-805-6065
Cheerleading Fall /Winter Monique Brady monique.brady@orange.k12.nc.us  
       
Winter      
       
Basketball Boys Jaison Brooks jaison.brooks@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000
Basketball Girls William Dobbs williamdobbs08@gmail.com  
Wrestling Scott Metcalf scott.metcalf@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000      ext 21700
Swimming Girls Pat Howes pat.howes@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000    ext   21303
Swimming Boys  Jim Kelly james.kelly@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000     ext 21501
Indoor Track Boys Bruce Smith bruce.smith@orange.k12.nc.us  
Indoor Track Girls Rob Clodfelter rob.clodfelter@orange.k12.nc.us  
       
Spring      
       
Baseball TBA TBA  
Softball  Allen Byrd abyrd@mebanepd.com  
Soccer Girls TBA TBA  
Track and Field Boys Melvin Griffin melvin.griffin@orange.k12.nc.us  
Track and Field Girls Rob Clodfelter  rob.clodfelter@orange.k12.nc.us  
Golf   Boys Chris Casey chris.casey@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000  ext 21701
Tennis Boys   TBA TBA 919-805-6065
Lacrosse Patrick Kavanaugh patrick.kavanaugh@orange.k12.nc.us 245-4000   ext 21402

06/11/2019

Photo Gallery