Fall Sport Workouts scheduled for July 6 have been delayed to a date TBD.

Fall sport workouts that were supposed to begin on July 6 have postponed to a date TBD. Please see the letter below from OCS.

 

Dear Families, 

 

Orange County Schools and our Athletics Committee, consisting of principals, athletic directors, athletic trainers, and district officials, has made the difficult decision to postpone the start of voluntary athletic summer workouts. Due to the rapidly changing landscape of COVID-19, in the late afternoon of July 2, after OCS communicated that athletics would continue on July 6th, we became aware of other information that caused us to make a change in our decision. We apologize for any inconvenience that this decision may have caused.  

 

OCS is committed to the health and safety of our students and staff and our decision to postpone athletics was made with this commitment at the forefront. While our Athletics Committee has worked hard to develop a solid safety plan for the return to athletics and we are prepared to start athletics when it is safe to do so, we felt the decision to postpone needed to be made for the following reasons:

 

The district hopes to avoid any start, stop and re-start scenarios for athletes

The district is making every effort to ensure the safety of students, staff, and the community.

The advice of area health professionals

 

OCS is continuing to evaluate when to resume athletic activities. Any resumption will be conducted with the health and safety of our student-athletes and staff in mind and in compliance with the North Carolina High School Athletic Association’s (NCHSAA) Reopening of Sports/Activities Summer Guidelines.  OCS will also follow guidance from the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Orange County Health Department.

The following area school districts have also decided to postpone their original July 6th start date: Alamance-Burlington School System, Cabarrus, Charlotte-Mecklenburg, Durham, Guilford, Wake, Winston-Salem/Forsyth.

We have also been monitoring the trends from across the country and states, like Tennessee, that started athletics approximately 4 weeks before the NCHSAA allowed for the start of athletics have since had to stop high school athletics. We again want the health and safety of our student-athletes to be at the forefront of all of our decisions.

 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at jason.johnson@orange.k12.nc.us.

 

Sincerely,


 

Jason Johnson

Ex. Director of Student Support Services

 

 

8/1/2020 5:36 AM

Return to Workouts for summer TBD

Please contact your Fall coach for more details.

 

Forms needed to participate:

1- Updated physical  (physical date after  March 1, 2019 good until May 2021)   Physical/Permission Form

2-  Updated participation/family history form       Family History Form

3-  Covid 19 Form          Initial Screening Covid19 Form

4- Concussion Form (Signed by the student and parent)      Concussion Form

 

Fall Coaches contact:

Andy Simmons A.D.    andy.simmons@orange.k12.nc.us

Kirsten Kelly  Athletic Trainer     kirsten.kelly@orange.k12.nc.us

Football  -   Cory Lea      cedarridgeredwolvesfb@gmail.com                     FB Calendar July/August    

Volleyball -   Fiona Cunningham Collichio     fiona.collichio@gmail.com

XC  -    Bruce Smith (Men)    bruce.smith@orange.k12.nc.us        Paul Lockwood (Women)  plockwood@wcpss.net

Soccer -  Pat Kavanaugh (in the process of hiring a new coach)    patrick.kavanaugh@orange.k12.nc.us

W. Tennis   -  Lennie Corbett     corbettg877@gmail.com

Cheer  -  Monique Brady     monique.brady@orange.k12.nc.us

W. Golf    -  Linda Osterman     linda.osterman@orange.k12.nc.us

 

8/1/2020 6:09 PM

Physicals on or after March 1, 2019 extended through May 1, 2021

9/1/2020 6:05 PM

Staff


CEDAR RIDGE HIGH SCHOOL COACHING STAFF

 

Position

Name

Principal

Dr. Carlos Ramirez

carlos.ramirez@orange.k12.nc.us

Athletic Director

Andy Simmons

andy.simmons@orange.k1.nc.us

Athletic Secretary 

Brenda Byrd

brenda.byrd@orange.k12.nc.us

Athletic Trainer

Kirsten Kelly

kirsten.kelly@orange.k12.nc.us

Fall Coaching Staff

Sport

Head Coach

Cross Country - Boys & Girls

    Paul Lockwood   

      plockwood@wcpss.net

           Bruce Smith 

                        bruce.smith@orange.k12.nc.us                   

Football

Cory Lea

cedarridgeredwolvesfb@gmail.com
 

Soccer - Boys


TBA

JV Coach    Patrick Kavanaugh

patrick.kavanaugh@orange.k12.nc.us

Tennis - Girls

Lennie Corbett

corbettg877@gmail.com

Volleyball - Girls

Fiona Collichio

fiona.collichio@gmail.com
 

Cheerleading

                                     
    JV -      TBA 

                             V-   Monique Brady

monique.brady@orange.k12.nc.us

Women's Golf

Linda Osterman

linda.osterman@orange.k12.nc.us

Winter Coaching Staff

Sport

Head Coach

Basketball - Boys

Jaison Brooks

jaison.brooks@orange.k12.nc.us

Basketball - Girls

William Dobbs

williamdobbs08@gmail.com

Wrestling

Scott Metcalf

scott.metcalf@orange.k12.nc.us

 Winter Cheerleading

          JV - TBA 

           V -  Monique Brady

monique.brady@orange.k12.nc.us

Swimming - Boys

TBA     

Swimming - Girls

Pat Howes

pat.howes@orange.k12.nc.us

Indoor Track

Sasha Morphis

sasha.morphis@orange.k12.nc.us 

        Delqwan Jackson

delqwan.jackson@orange.k12.nc.us

Spring Coaching Staff

Sport

Head Coach

Baseball

Bryson Massey

bryson.massey@orange.k12.nc.us

Golf - Boys

Chris Casey

chris.casey@orange.k12.nc.us

Soccer - Girls

David Jones

david.jones@orange.k12.nc.us

Softball - Girls

Allen Byrd

abyrd@mebanepd.com

Tennis - Boys

Steve Mayhew

sbmayhew@yahoo.com

Track & Field - Boys

Melvin Griffin

melvin.griffin@orange.k12.nc.us

Track & Field - Girls

Bruce Smith

bruce.smith@orange.k12.nc.us

Lacrosse

Patrick Kavanaugh

patrick.kavanaugh@orange.k12.nc.us